Famous Norwich business name given new lease of life as Stones Bespoke Tailoring Ltd
14:16 24 February 2012
One of the best-known business names in Norwich is back up and running, with a new look and home.
F.A Stones & Sons closed its shop on Timberhill, in May last year after 137 years of trading in the city, when Diana Dewing, nee Stone, the granddaughter of the shop’s founder Frederick Adolphus Stone, retired at the age of 80.
The tailors - originally based on prince of Wales Road in 1874 - had been fitting the Royal Anglian Regiment at Sandhurst since the turn of the 20th century, when it was making uniforms for The King’s Own Royal Regiment Norfolk Special Yeomanry.
The Stones name has survived though, thanks to permission from Mrs Dewing, for a newly-formed business at a studio on Cattle Market Street.
Long-time employees Tony Burns, Norma Cheney and Bridget Harrod, who have 150 years of tailoring experience between them, nowhave a business called Stones Bespoke Tailoring Ltd, which has retained a by-appointment presence at Holland and Sherries in London’s famous Saville Row.
Tony, 70 the master tailor and cutter, is largely based in London, leaving Bridget, 59, who has been a tailoress since she started as a learner with Stone & Sons in 1967, and Norma, 69, who had worked for Stones as a tailoress since 1976.
Bridget said: “We have no shop front now, it’s just two work rooms. We still have all our nice cloths and we have a fitting room, so it’s kind of half shop, half work room, so customers can talk to us while we are working.
“We’re enjoying it, we have new customers as well as our old customers, so it’s going well.”
For further details, go to www.stonesbespoketailors.co.uk
Do you have a story for Local Life? Contact reporter David Freezer on 01603 772418 or firstname.lastname@example.org