Celebration time at Diss GC

AT the presentation evening at Diss Golf Club, Godfrey Batley presented a cheque to Ellie Walker from his chosen captain's charity - the East Anglian Air Ambulance - for an excellent �2,545.

AT the presentation evening at Diss Golf Club, Godfrey Batley presented a cheque to Ellie Walker from his chosen captain's charity - the East Anglian Air Ambulance - for an excellent �2,545.

Tom Bailey, club secretary, introduced the winners for the year to whom trophies/prizes were then presented by the relevant captains:

Juniors: Jill Driver Cup Michael Manser, Spring Cup Ross Halil, Autumn Cup Chris Bartrum, May Cup Josh Halil, President's Shield Adam Wright, Junior Club Championship Handicap Trophy Christopher Lee, Junior Pairs Chris Bartrum and Bruce Bavin, Alan Nichols Knockout Chris Bartrum, Perrett Trophy for most improved junior James Biggs from 26.4 to 17.9 h/c, adult/junior greensomes Paul Dove and Adam Wright, lady/junior pairs challenge Di Randall + Ed Lacy.

Hole-in-ones: There have been a remarkable number this year, starting with what must have been the quickest ace in the history of the club for a new member. Jesse Farrell joined the club on December 20 2008 and had a hole-in-one on the 12th hole, on the 23rd. Jim Harper 15th January , David Tooke 15th February 7 2009, Sandy Booth 12th February 2009, Anthony Lorne 4th March 7, David Snelling 15th March 14, Edward Doe 12th March 22 2009, Sarah Anderson 4th May 23 2009, John Piper 15th June 18, Patricia Tonkin 15th July 31 2009, Chris Bartrum 15th September 28, Phillip Scott 15th November 17.

Winners of ongoing competitions - Peugeot Coronation Foursomes Judith Bedwell and Jean Halil, Ping 4 ball better ball Jane Izod and Jean Halil, NSPCC Judith Bedwell and Jean Halil, Lady Bader Salver Celia Pearson and Deanna Boult, Douglas Bader Jane and Adrian Izod, International Pairs Ken Bowman and Dennis Millier, ladies' Daily Mail foursomes Judith Bedwell and Jean Halil, par bar Susan Attwood, Tom Bailey and Judith Meli, Happy Palace stableford Lorna Burroughes.

December 2008 winners - Bill Batley Trophy Wally Brown, Roy Hilbourne Turkey Trot Bob Attwood.

Most Read

March 2009 winners - Watson Cup spring/autumn John Duckmanton and Paul Johnston, Famous Grouse foursomes Mike and David Tooke, Morritt Cup John Duckmanton.

April winners - Daphne Bartrum Bowl Jane Lovell, April medal and hall of fame qlfr Roger Hinds, John Bell Classic Tony Dunning, Gale cup Ian Brown, 18-hole Challenge June Briggs, Todd Cup spring/autumn Andrew Aldous and Bowan Bradley.

May winners - Muriel Ogle Cup spring/autumn Celia Pearson and Sue Attwood, Bertie Daish Shield Mervyn Taylor, John Grose Arun Lucraft, Pauline Burroughes Salver Celia Pearson, Pat Lewis Cup Andy Rose, Laurie Cup Ruth Ingram, ladies v men match halved - so ladies retain the trophy.

Mann Cup and EGU gold medal Mark Farrow. Mark has actually set a new course record in this competition with a round of 65. Mark also scored 63 in the August Bank Holiday which unfortunately doesn't count as a club course record as it was a stableford competition, but it is the lowest gross competition score at the club.

June winners - Foundation brooch Jill Driver, Veterans' Cup Tony O'Shaughnessy, Laurie cup Malcolm Page, seniors June medal John Piper, Queen Mother's cup Judith Bedwell, stableford trophy Helena Honour, ladies v men greensomes matchplay ladies, Michael Bailey Charity Cup Stephen Grimwade.

July winners - Lady Captain's Day Cup Celia Pearson, Kathy Daish Vase Val Mendham, seniors July stableford Graham Hilton, Bardwell Cup Nigel Rogers, ladies' club championship handicap trophy Judith Bedwell, ladies' championship bronze division Lorna Burroughes, ladies senior cup Carol Bourne.

August winners - August medal and EWGA pin Barbara Lee, George Long tankard Simon Palmer, Officeline classic Jason Sewell, Bob Papaik Cup Wally Brown, lady past captain Jean Halil, Jack Gillick Cup Lorna Burroughes and Malcolm Barnes.

September winners - Bob the Cat Trophy (The Tabby Cats) David Bailey, Barry Fisher, A Moyser and Judith Ewens, Sharp Cup Gavin Kilbourn, greenkeepers challenge Maurice Pegg, Margaret Perrett trophy Deanna Boult, Daily Mail Foursomes Howard Thornton and Richard Walters, Merv Nelson Trophy Mervyn Taylor/Peter Snell.

October winners - James Trophy Josh Halil, Autumn cup Judith Bedwell, Jim Bromley trophy Vic Prior. November winners - Les Pretty putter Steven Thompson, John Huggins trophy Peter Snell.

Knockout, eclectic and yearly awards - Seniors winter singles Bob Allison, Eric Wright senior winter foursomes Harold Halil and Maurice Costello, ladies' Edwards winter singles Lorna Burroughes, Deanna Boult, winter foursomes Helen Lawson and Carol Bourne, winter pairs league runners-up Ken Bowman and Mervyn Taylor, winter pairs league Edward Doe and Steven Biggs, ladies' Nelson Cup winter eclectic Sarah Anderson, winter eclectic Josh Halil, Bill Randall, seniors summer singles cup Neil Stewart, Roger Holmes seniors summer foursomes John Sparks and Bob Allison, Lady Mann Cup KO Val Mendham, Vincent Cup KO Bernard Cresswell, Captain's Cup KO Steven Biggs, the Edwards Challenge Salver Sue and Bob Attwood, Stanley Youngs Trophy Judith Bedwell and John Wall, Grace Vincent Vase summer eclectic Sarah Anderson, Medal Trophy Lorna Burroughes, Putting Trophy Val Mendham, Birdie tree winner Judith Bedwell, Found out trophy Jane Brooke, most improved player Helena Honour, seniors order of merit Wally Brown, lady golfer of the year Judith Bedwell. order of merit tankard played over 13 club competitions Paul Dove, the Barry Fisher scratch order of merit Mark Farrow, with an average gross score of 70.5 from his best six scores from the order of merit competition.