Diss Otters in fine form at home gala

SWIMMING: Jack Turner and Annabelle Cremnitz became honorary team captains for the Diss Tiddlers competition last weekend where Diss Otters competed against teams from Hadleigh, Great Yarmouth and North Norfolk.

Diss impressed with superb consistency in their swims, the team achieved eight firsts, 11 seconds and seven thirds, finishing third overall.

Individual wins came for Libby Harvey in the 25m butterfly (21.10), Jack Turner in the 50m butterfly (42.59) and 50m breaststroke (42.44), Elise Jefferis in the 25m breaststroke (22.72), Ethan Turner in the 25m front-crawl (21.03) and Tamzin Knight-Stimpson in the 50m front-crawl (40.15). The boys' 11/12 years 4 x 25m front-crawl relay team made up of Luc Van Rensburg, Stuart Smith, James Hutchings and Jack Turner also won in a smashing time of 1:08.69.

There were many unforgettable, personal best smashing swims on the night including Joshua Biddlecombe setting his first time for 25m butterfly, achieving 22.12 and Leon Kershaw swimming in two consecutive 25m breaststroke races, both in personal best times.

Iwan Lloyd destroyed his 50m butterfly time by seven seconds with 50.07 and finishing second having already played in a football match and a tennis tournament earlier in the day, and Stephanie Brown set an even bigger best time in the same event of 12 seconds.

Both Amber and Lauren Smith finished second in their races on the night with Amber setting a pb in the 50m butterfly and Lauren in the 25m backstroke. Stuart Smith nailed his turn in the 50m breaststroke to storm home in a personal best time of 60.16, 13 seconds off his previous time. Benjamin Brooks and Fliss Hall both set a three-second pb in the 25m front-crawl.

Luc Van Rensburg and James Hutchings played a vital team role both finishing in second place in their events, Rachel Brown performed strongly in both of her relays and finally Annabelle Cremnitz swam in her best event the 50m breaststroke in a super time of 46.75, a four-second pb.

Most Read

Head coach Jamie Rush said a huge congratulations to the team and thanks to all the helpers and officials for running yet another successful home gala.