Diss Otters swimmer preparing for Channel crossing

Diss Otters Swimming Club's Will Johnson, who is preparing for a team crossing of the English Channe

Diss Otters Swimming Club's Will Johnson, who is preparing for a team crossing of the English Channel. Picture: Julie Munnings - Credit: Archant

Diss Otters swimmer Will Johnson will take part in one of swimming's toughest events in July.

The Diss High School pupil and a group of like-minded swimmers from the Felixstowe area will swim the English Channel in a relay event held in the summer.

Currently in training for the event, Will said: 'It's going to be tough, but we are looking to raise money through sponsorship for The Young Minds Trust which is a charity which supports children with mental health issues.'

The group have named themselves the East Coast Icicles, a fitting name bearing in mind the water won't exactly be warm when they make the crossing!

The 19-mile swim should take about 15 hours and will see the swimmers start from Shakespeare's beach near Dover. They should make landfall in France at Cap Griz Nez.

Will has swum for Diss Otters for the last few years and has foregone standard pool events to concentrate on open water swimming and competed in the national finals last year.

The Icicles have their own fundraising page - www.justgiving.com/fundraising/eastcoasticicles

Most Read

Meanwhile 24 swimmers from Diss Otters took part in the latest Mini Meet gala organised by Great Yarmouth Swimming Club on Saturday at UEA Sportspark.

This series of galas is designed to give swimmers valuable experience and develop their racing skills before stepping up to bigger meets in the future.

The Diss team performed brilliantly on the night with 20 medals and a total of 47 top six finishes from 96 individual swims.

Highlights included three golds and a silver for Ciaran Strike, a medal of each colour for Lucas Blair, a gold for Forbes Irvine and a gold and a silver for birthday boy Daniel Brown.

Other medal winners were Oslo Chapman, Finlay Neve, Isaac Looker, Alexandre Jackson, Sunshine Allen, Emma Neve, Elizabeth Looker and Lily Ellis.

The full Otters squad was Oslo Chapman, Ciaran Strike, Finlay Neve, Forbes Irvine, Toby Townsend, Rowan Shearer, Isaac Looker, Ella Townsend, Alexandra Jackson, Molly Wilson, Darcie Martin, Sunshine Allen, Alfie Childs, Lucas Blair, Phoebe Tovell, Rainbow Allen, Ella Wilson, Molly Wilson, Freya Button, Molly Kershaw, Emma Neve, Elizabeth Looker, Lily Ellis and Daniel Brown.