Future looking bright for Hethersett & Tas Valley CC

Hethersett and Tas Valley Cricket Club has a bright future thanks to a youth policy that is bringing through excellent young players, club chairman Tony Smith told the club's presentation evening.

For the first time the club combined its annual Christmas meal with the presentation event.

'Overall 2014 was a rather up and down season, but overall it was very positive with so many of our young players featuring in adult cricket. Our future looks bright and we have one of the best grounds and facilities in Norfolk,' he said.

He thanked club members for their efforts throughout the season, the Ellis family for making the facilities available at Flordon and Paul Reeve for organising the meal and presentation event.

The season brought a number of successes.

The third team were runners-up in Division Five of the Norfolk League, gaining a double promotion to play next season in Division Three after a re-arrangement of the league.

The Sunday team reached the semi-final of the Sunday Cup, only being denied a final place on the toss of a coin after heavy rain.

Most Read

The Sunday team also reached the regional final of the National Village Cup competition, which the club entered for the first time. The midweek side were victorious in the Wensum Cup.

David Coyle was named overall player of the year for a number of outstanding performances with both bat and ball.

Performance of the season went to 14-year-old Tom Osborne for an unbeaten 173 for the third team in the final match of the season which saw them win to finish runners-up.

The most improved player award went to Crispin Clarke, another former youth team player, and the young player of the year award to young spin bowler Sam Morton. Sam also won the overall batting cup.


Before the presentations, the club honoured the name of Australian cricketer Phil Hughes, who died as a result of being hit by a cricket ball. The tribute was led by first team bowler Phil Walmsley.

First team

Batting: Paul Reeve. Bowling: David Coyle

Second team

Batting: Rob Mitchell. Bowling: Matt Steward

Third team

Batting: Ross Jones. Bowling: Cameron Clarke

Fourth team

Batting: Mark Worley. Bowling: Sanjewa Jayakodi.

Overall Batting: Paul Reeve

Overall Bowling: Sam Morton

Duck Cup for most ducks: Damian Fahy and Ian Harrison

Catching Cup (including wicketkeepers): David Coyle

Catching Cup (excluding wicketkeepers): David Coyle

Most Improved Player: Crispin Clarke

Best Performance: Tom Osborne

Young Player of the Year: Sam Morton

Club Person of the Year: Stuart Cooper

Player of the Year: David Coyle.