Walsham-le-Willows 3 Diss Town 1

Diss Town manager Mike Derbyshire.

Diss Town manager Mike Derbyshire. - Credit: Nick Butcher

Despite taking a half-time lead the Tangerines were unable to avenge the heavy Boxing Day defeat suffered at the hands of their Easter Monday hosts who found their way back into the game in the second half courtesy of a combination of defensive errors and good finishing.

After an initial flurry by the hosts, the Tangerines started to get a grip of the midfield battle and put some attacking moves together.

In the 28th minute they won a corner on the left and Tom Driscoll just beat Kieran Patel to the ball to head clear for another corner. This resulted in Diss taking the lead, as Charlie Webb jumped superbly at the far post to head the ball back into the goalmouth for Matt Dixon to head home from close range.

The Willows were then just off target with a header from Shaun Thorrold following a free-kick taken by Paul Musgrove.

There were chances at both ends after the break before Lee Sim struck a shot from distance that appeared to deceive Luchowa as it crept inside his left-hand post in the 69th minute.

The Tangerines had a great opportunity to regain the lead in the 77th minute but McAnally made a fine double save from first Webb and then Patel after a cross from the right. This proved to be the turning point of the game, as two minutes later a looping header from Andrew Wood dropped towards the far post and looked as though it would be dealt with by Luchowa or Kirkby, but Luke Austin somehow managed to scramble the ball home. The three points were secured by the home side in the 87th minute when Sim floated an inch-perfect chip over Luchowa and just underneath the crossbar to give the Willows a 3-1 lead.

This defeat leaves Diss still just one point above the bottom three, battling with possibly Thetford, FC Clacton and Ely City to avoid the remaining relegation slot. They are at home to Brightlingsea Regent on Saturday.

Most Read

Attendance: 114

Diss Town Team: Kavi Luchowa, Ashley Mitchell, Mark Shadrack, Max Kirkby, Danny Easlea, Josh Curry, Kieran Patel, Adam Burroughs (booked 85 mins), Chris Holmes, Matt Dixon, Charlie Webb