Search
Thursday, November 22, 2018

Whether it’s to make time for tea with a neighbour, or to go to a carol service, will this be the year to do some of the festive things you promise yourself every year? We’ve 18 ideas for starters.

Read more
St Mary's Church
Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Christmas is coming and there is no better way to get into the festive mood than visiting a market, with mulled wine in hand of course.

Read more
St Mary's Church
Monday, November 12, 2018

It was the war to end all wars in which millions of people died on the battlefields of Europe and further afield. A hundred years on South Norfolk paid its respects to the fallen and marked the armistice.

Read more
St Mary's Church
Saturday, November 10, 2018

It was The Great War, the war to end all wars in which millions of people died on the battlefields of Europe and further afield.

Read more
Hartismere School
Friday, November 9, 2018

A Norfolk school is being sued for damages of up to £150,000 by a woman who broke her wrist when she tripped over a kerb in its car park.

Read more
St Mary's Church
Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Drivers passing through Mere Street to Victoria Road will be greeted by the sight of two soldiers in a field of poppies as of Tuesday, November 6.

Read more
Rotary Club
Friday, November 2, 2018

The life of ‘Mr Diss’ was celebrated as the town said goodbye to one its most well known figures on Friday.

Read more
Diss
Thursday, November 1, 2018

The funeral of one of the most well-known characters in Diss is to be held at the church of the town he loved.

Read more
Trevor Wenman
Tuesday, September 25, 2018

A life-size silhouette statue of a soldier will take pride of place at First World War centenary events in Diss — but plans to find it a permanent home in the town have so far proved fruitless.

Read more
army
Friday, August 31, 2018

From stately rooms in grand houses to steam engines and our industrial heritage, a diverse range of South Norfolk attractions are to throw open their doors during this year’s Heritage Open Days.

Read more
Michael Edney
Friday, August 17, 2018

A Norfolk village plans to mark the centenary of the end of the First World War by adding the names of two men to its war memorial.

Read more
St Mary's Church
Tuesday, July 24, 2018

The first ever Norfolk Day is set to take place on Friday, July 27 with businesses and communities hosting hundreds of events across the county.

Read more
South Norfolk Council
Tuesday, May 15, 2018

The historical ruins of a grade II listed church have been vandalised.

Read more
St Mary's Church
Wednesday, April 18, 2018

A church which has undergone a major restoration project is celebrating the near of completion of works with a series of summer events.

Read more
St Mary's Church
Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Some of Norfolk’s most beautiful gardens will open up this year to raise funds for St John Ambulance. Trevor Heaton reports.

Read more
St Mary's Church
Friday, January 19, 2018

It is one of the most historic buildings in Diss and the centrepiece of the town’s Heritage Triangle regeneration project.

Read more
St Mary's Church

Most Read

Local Weather

Sunshine and Showers

Sunshine and Showers

max temp: 5°C

min temp: -0°C

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Diss Mercury e-edition today
E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Diss Mercury weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Great Days Out

cover

Click here to view
the Great Days Out
supplement

View